Meet the team

Every club is held together and given direction by the efforts and commitment of a small number of people. They are quite often the people that give the club its character and its atmosphere. Currently these are the people that keep Glasgow Archers moving …


penguin-24598_640Coaches are volunteers who assist members with practice and performance. Each will have passed coaching courses as stipulated by Archery GB/Scottish Archery and are extremely knowledgeable about archery both generally (form, technique and problem resolution) as well as specifically (regarding kit, tuning and personal improvement).
Our current coaches are:

Michael Mather                         Bill Aitcheson

David Hutton is now sadly retired from active coaching

 *          *          *

Board of Trustees

antsThe club is run by a team of volunteers who are, since our elevation to charity-hood, trustees. All of them work tirelessly for the club with nary a break, trip to toilet or life outside archery (no exaggeration in one case). Admittedly they do pause for biscuits! Here is the list of current board members as at our last AGM in November 2023.


Chair and Training Coordinator: Michael Mather
Vice-Chair**: George Davidson
Treasurer: Tony Martin
Secretary: Scott Lee
Membership Secretary: position currently vacant
Tournament Organiser and Chef (Aka Captain Sausage): John Strang
Child Well-being and Protection Officer: Bill Aitcheson
Records Officer: Duncan Malone

** We’re not actually sure what a vice-chair normally does but this one is an equipment nerd who looks after on field operations as our perennial Field Captain/Safety Officer and Kit Gnu. His email messages end with “sent from my secret archery workshop”, we assume in an inactive volcano. Thank the archery gods we don’t have to pay him! If he ever missed a session mysteriously, we’d assume he was dead.

*          *          *

Image by Clker-Free-Vector-Images from Pixabay